New Hanover Community Endowment Announces Community Advisory Board Members

The New Hanover Community Endowment (NHCE), which oversees the $1.25 billion endowment fund resulting from the sale of the New Hanover Regional Medical Center to Novant, has announced the composition of its Community Advisory Board (CAC).

The board members, referred to by NHCE as “ambassadors,” are intended to act as “a liaison between the endowment and the community,” according to NHCE. The board will also “advise staff on challenges and opportunities” in the NHCE’s main areas of investment – education, health and social equity, public safety and community development.

Related: New Hanover Community Endowment seeks candidates for its new Community Advisory Board

The CAC is a non-voting body and will not have a say in specific grants, according to an interview with NHCE CEO William Buster in late March. Buster said the ACC’s quarterly “work meetings” would not be open to the public, but promised transparency, adding that information about the ambassadors’ work would be shared online.

NHCE originally announced there would be up to 15 members, but has now increased that number to 18, selected by NHCE board of directors. According to NHCE, the increase in council size was due to the “strong response” during the application period.

The CAC members announced this week are:

  • Jamie Stokely, Cape Fear Area Director of Helping Hands
  • Maurice Locklear, Lightbeam Health Solutions, Chief Medical Officer, Cape Fear Clinic, CMO
  • Joe Finley, retired, co-founder of CastleBranch
  • Gustavo Rodea, founded Rodea’s Enterprise Inc.
  • Susie Sewell, Director of the Camp Schreiber Foundation
  • Frankie Roberts, CLIC Executive Director, Men’s Ministry Director
  • Brandon Cagle, Global Ambassador, Castle Affiliate
  • LeShonda Wallace, infectious disease specialist at Novant Health
  • Natalie English, President and CEO, Wilmington Chamber of Commerce
  • Yasmin Tomkinson, Cape Fear Literacy
  • Dawn Ferrer, Executive Director at A Safe Place
  • Peter Nemmers, Director of Training Development, National Association of Security Professionals
  • Raul Zamora-Duprey, MedNorth Health Center, Behavioral Health Clinical Care Consultant
  • Sara Hobgood, Novant Health NHRMC
  • Quanesha Mullins, Wilmington Housing Authority, Creekwood South Case Manager
  • Marrio Jeter, Director of Programs and Operations for Communities in Schools
  • Jane Morrow, Executive Director of Smart Start
  • Chaz Springer, Assistant Director of Marketing TRU Colors

CCC appointees will be divided into three groups, serving one-, two-, or three-year terms to establish a Board of Directors with staggered rotation; according to a spokesperson, NHCE has not released which members will serve for what terms.
According to NHCE, “CCC members were selected through a rigorous application process. Gender, race and ethnicity balance was considered to ensure community demographics were reflected.

About Vicki Davis

Check Also

Spotlight on Kenosha Community Foundation: Kenosha’s “Best Kept Secret”

Amy Greil We at Kenosha Community Foundation are pleased to provide a series of articles …